30 Days of Wild begins

Today is the first day of The Wildlife Trust’s 30 Days Wild.  This is were people are encouraged to do something nature based each day in June.

Now, I know there may be some out there that say that they are too busy and just don’t have the time…”I’m too busy!”  30 Days Wild isn’t about how much time you have spent in nature, its all about your passion and appreciation for nature that matters.

You can go to your local park or nature reserve and see what wildlife you can spot, or have a picnic in the sunshine.  You can just step outside your front door and listen to the bird song or watch a bee buzzing about the flowers.  How about putting a bird feeder up in your garden, reading a wildlife magazine, cuddling a tree, or perhaps buy something that’s plastic free.  It’s not about thinking big; unless you want to organise a litter pick, built a pond or hike in the countryside.  Small activities are just as significant in reconnecting people with nature.

As I write this, I’m sat by my window listening to blackbirds and robins singing loudly.  Just this simple act instantly calms me, places me in the present, and helps me appreciate the things that really matter in life.

Even if you can’t do something wild every day in June then try and do something this month no matter how small.  You’ll be amazed how much it will help your mental wellbeing, how calmer you will feel; and how significant something as simple as putting out a small bowl of water or a bird feeder in the garden can be for your local wildlife.

The Wildlife Trust even has a 30 Days Wild app here which has lots of nature ideas to inspire you.

Whatever you have planned I hope you all have a wild and wonderful June.

Leave a comment