Wirral Wanderings -Day 21 of 30 Days Wild

First of all let me start by saying:

Merry Litha, Happy Summer Solstice and Gŵyl Ganol yr Haf hapus everyone. What ever you call the longest day I hope you had a fantastic time.

Today was another hot day but at least by the afternoon it turned overcast and we had 5 minutes of thunder and lightening to clear the air a tiny little bit.

For my 30 days Wild challenge today, I went for a stroll around different parts of the Wirral Peninsula.

My first stop this morning was Gordales garden centre. They have a little lake there and it was teaming with wildlife. There was buzzards flying over head cooing, moorhens splashing about in the water and a variety of small birds eating seed on the ground.

My next stop was Burton Manor gardens in the beautiful chocolate box village of Burton, followed by a quick pop into Burton RSPB nature reserve to see the fantastic wildlife there.

My next exploration took me to a little secret place tucked down a quiet lane called Hampston Well, also in Burton. The spring is is thought to have been in use during the Iron Age and Anglo Saxon times.  Sadly it was overgrown and I never got to see much which is a great shame.

As the sun started to rise high in the sky I drove down to Thurstaston beach to soak up the lovely scenery and gaze over at the Welsh hills across the water. (The river Dee estuary)

I then decided to head to the other side of the Wirral Peninsula.  Half way across I drove past the old Hadlow station. The  disused railway line is now called The Wirral Way and is a great place to walk if you wish to see wildlife and history.

On reaching the river Mersey side of Wirral, my first stop is the old Eastham churchyard to say hello to an ancient yew tree who is somewhere between 1,500-2,000 years old.

I then drove a little further, to walk around the old Eastham pleasure grounds. You can still see evidence here of old zoo cages and a bear pit. It is quite sad to think animals were once kept in such awful conditions in Victorian time.

My final stop of the day was to sit by the old 12th Century Eastham Ferry quay. I sat for a while watching ships come in along the river Mersey and gazed over at the Liverpool iconic skyline on the other side of the river.

Wirral is a wonderful place to visit and there is so much more to see…there just isn’t enough time in the day for me. (even if it is the longest day)

Leave a Reply

