Day 2 of 30 Days Wild

Today it rained and rained so I decided that it was a good day to start looking through photos and video footage from my wildlife camera that has been out in the garden for the past 3 weeks.

There are well over 1,000 clips to look at so I still haven’t finished looking through them, but at least I’ve made a start.

It was lovely to see sparrows out in the sunshine enjoying some mealworms. They are normally very shy birds in the garden and like to stay near the hedges, but then that is the beauty of having a wildlife camera. It allows me to get close up to such shy creatures, opening up a secret wildlife world to me.

Blackbirds busily search for food for their hungry young but in the hot weather they have taken time out for a much needed drink and bath.

Putting water out for wildlife when the weather is hot is very important to all the creatures who live or visit your garden.

As I was looking through footage I had a very big surprise indeed.

A small group of starlings squabbling away to each other while finding seed and mealworms on the grass. There hasn’t been any starlings in the garden here for years so it is lovely to see them back here again at last. I really hope they decide to stay.

There looks like there may be quite a bit of hedgehog videos and photos to look through too. I just love watching the hedgehogs and getting to know each cheeky little character. They have such huge personalities and don’t mind the rain as it brings more juicy worms and slugs out for them to eat.

Its nice to know that even when its raining I can still watch and enjoy wildlife in the garden

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

