Wirral Wader Fest

20161002_123012.jpg

It was a lovely warm day and the sky was a beautiful azure blue so I decided to see what was going on at the Wirral Wader Festival. The festival takes place in a number of location in Wirral so I decided I would go to Thurstaston.

20161002_122630.jpg

There were stalls from Wader Quest, RSPB and Cheshire Wildlife Trust, as well as some talks on waders. There was an interesting display of taxidermy birds such as plover and curlew. It was amazing to see them close up. I’m so use to seeing them through binoculars so it was fascinating to see their actual size. It was also interesting to see where these birds have been spotted on the Wirral shore and where they migrate from.

The volunteers and staff on the stalls at the visitors centre were so helpful and friendly. I listened about the conservation efforts to help wading birds, and even listened to interesting facts and stories about RSPB badges. Everyone was so super friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. It was a joy to listen and learn from them. Of course, I left with some more lovely badges to add to my collection.

img_20161003_141109.jpg

As I walked onto the beach I got my binoculars out and looked around for signs of wildlife, but it was high tide so I only saw 2 flocks of birds who were bobbing gently out on the water having a snooze. I decided to sit down on the sand for a while listening to the waves rolling in on the shore and enjoying the view of Wales across the water. (See video)

img_20161003_141008.jpg

img_20161003_141213.jpg

I love walking along looking at the geology on Thurstaston beach as well as seeing what the tide has washed up on the shore. The cliffs are formed from what is known as glacial till.

20161002_125912.jpg

This boulder clay sediment is full of different pebbles and rock which a glacier brought down from the Southern Uplands of Scotland and from the Lake District during the Ice Age.

20161002_125454.jpg

You can even find salt pseudomorphs here. These are crystal structures that formed when salt water dried out which were then covered with sediment preserving their shape. I think geology is so fascinating.

img_20161005_201529.jpg

On my way back up to the visitors centre I saw comma butterflies, and bees enjoying the ivy hedges, and the shrubs were alive with the sound of tweeting birds. (see video)

20161002_130147.jpg

I even saw a magpie sat on a bench enjoying the view of Wales and the warm sun on its feathers.

img_20161003_140214.jpg

Just before I left I stopped to have a look in one of the ponds and saw red darters skimming the waters surface.

img_20161003_140008.jpg

The Wader Festival is only in its 2nd year so I look forward to seeing how its grows and evolves with time.

It was a beautiful day to be out in nature surrounded by friendly people, amazing geology and great wildlife.

img_20161003_141645.jpg

Leave a Reply

