My time at Nant Gwrtheyrn

Click here for Cymraeag version: Mae fy amser yn Nant 

I have been learning welsh since October 2012 and I love learning the language. I get to practice reading and writing in Welsh but I only really speak the language in the classroom. I always wished I could have a taste of complete immersion in the language to help build my confidence speaking, and one day my dream came true and I won a competition with @LearnCymraeg  to study at Nant Gwrtheyrn.

As soon as I saw there was a nature course at Nant Gwrtheyrn I jumped for joy as this combined my two passions…nature and welsh. Three days of speaking welsh and learning about nature-what a perfect combination, I thought.

Well the month of May soon came around and I was off to Nant Gwrtheyrn. It didn’t take too long to drive there and it was easy to find. I stopped for a few minutes in the top carpark looking over to Yr Eifl towering above into the clouds before driving the steep twisting road that plunges down the wooded hillside to Nant Gwrtheyrn and the sea. I was apprehensive about driving down at first but it wasn’t as bad as I had thought and the views as you drive down are amazing!

When I arrived I found the staff really welcoming and friendly, and my room in one of the old quarry cottages was lovely. I was really looking forward to my stay there and it was going to be like going back in time with no TV or phone signal.

For the rest of the afternoon I strolled around the village and then walked to the beach. I saw a pied wagtail, male stonechat and a buzzard. I walked along the beach looking at what was left of the old granite quarry and then sat on the beach watching the waves crash onto the pebbled beach and looked out at the beautiful view.

In the evening I walked back to the beach and I made my first little video of me speaking welsh, then I walked back to the village and watched the sunset before going to bed, excited about starting the nature course in the morning.

20160502_164130

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

